michele norris at market street gallery

Don’t miss the opening reception for Michele Norris’ exhibition, The Good Earth, on Monday, June 7 at Market Street Bar and Grill in the Hyatt Regency Reston from 5-7pm.

Enjoy Michele’s artist statement:

I am inspired by the natural world. In my current landscape work the land is a departure point, a place to jump off. The landscape moves beyond simply the illustration of an actual location and begins to symbolize thought, emotion and energy.

When I am painting the physicality of the process propels me. A journey has begun. Marks of the palette knife, drips of paint and brush strokes are evidence of my labor and process.

I paint in acrylic and oil on panel and canvas. I also use my own handprinted papers in my work. Through a process of reduction and addition, layering and scraping, I enjoy creating interesting and opposing textures. Most of all I enjoy the daily process and ritual of putting pencil to paper, brush to canvas and turning my visions to reality.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to NewsvineLike This!

Leave a Reply

